h1

1.17.11

January 17, 2011

The stars glisten and I,
I think of something irrelevant.

Something more temporary than a shooting star,
something on my mind,
but not in my heart.

I lift my head on a different axis,
and I wonder,
if you see these stars,
what do you think of?

You who has nothing,
you who is stuck in a third world country,
you who lives in a sub-sufficient world,
where everything is on the rocks
and nothing is certain.

You who can’t tell
the dollar from the euro.
You to whom it doesn’t matter,
not because you’ve never been taught to read,
but because you’ve got no pocket for change.
Your pocket’s been torn and that hole,
that black,
black,
hole,
is sucking the life out of you.

You don’t care for the dollar or the euro,
you want the thing that’ll make you see tomorrow
the thing that’ll make the pain go away.

You,
your wants,
your biggest desires,
are the littlest things I have.

And yet I?
I wish for things beyond your imagining.

Why?
Because the world I was raised in
validates it,
but yours,
yours doesn’t.

But if you’re on this planet
and so am I,
why am I on this side,
and you on the other?

23 comments

  1. love it,
    so thrilled to read you and have you in this week…

    we are on different sides, but we love poetry and share wit and humor…

    brilliant piece…;)


    • Thank you so much!
      I’m glad to participate!


  2. Beautiful words, beautiful sentiment. Sadly the sentiment is all too true. Truely thought provoking and change calling.
    The Lonely Recluse.


    • Thank you! It’s one of my favorites :]


  3. man alive that’s real! there’s some depth to this, and I thank you for making me take the time to consider this otherwordly person.


    • Thank you! I enjoyed writing about it


  4. Wow! I loved it!


  5. mmm…nice…i like the social commentary…we have so much while others have so little…yet still we live under the same stars…


  6. Thought-provoking. Excellent.


  7. So good. I really love this one.


  8. I don’t know why either, Teenagepoet. it was a wonderful rendering. For whom there is no pocket for money, there is a big mind for memories and pleasures of their stature might override ours.. 🙂 thought provoking…


    • Thank you so much, the message just really hit home with me


  9. Brilliant piece about a condition that’s both sad and true. I particularly like the last stanza:
    “But if you’re on this planet
    and so am I,
    why am I on this side,
    and you on the other?”


    • Thanks! It’s strange how we’re given the roles we’re given in life, wonder what it would be like otherwise.


  10. love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx


    • Sorry I didn’t get a chance to join!
      Thank you for the compliments! They mean a lot


  11. how are you?

    keep up the excellence, love your style, delicious poems.
    smiles.


  12. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox



Leave a Reply

