h1

4.15.10

April 15, 2010

Do not help me,
let me fall.
For mankind does not
learn from words,
but from experience.

I did not know heat
until my hand was in the flame.

I did not know sharp,
until blood was pouring from my cut.

I did not know soreness,
until my hand was under your foot.

I did not know what sound was,
until my fingers strummed a guitar.

I did not know what light was,
until I felt the sun warm my face.

I did not know what heartbreak was,
until I fell without you catching me.

I did not know life,
until I explored the world.

10 comments

  1. And you did not grow until you knew all of these things. The hardest thing in life to do is to let those you love make their own mistakes, but we have to let go and make their own mistakes so they can learn from them. Does this make sense to you? You have a lot of wisdom to be as young as you, or do your mom give you advice on what to write. LOL Just teasing my young friend.


    • Haha yes, very true, and thanks, but my words are my own 🙂


  2. a lovely poem.the premise upon which you base your poem is great.well done.


  3. cool poem!


  4. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/finally-poetry-awards-for-poets-rally-week-14/

    two awards for you,
    the most productive poet award,
    the most popular poet award,
    enjoy!
    😉


  5. Nice poem!


  6. very nice 🙂



Leave a Reply

