h1

3.30.10

March 30, 2010

My heart
is locked,
it’s damaged
and broken.

Why should I
open it,
if you won’t
let me in.

It begs me,
not to fall
in love
with another
who will
let me down,
betray me,
or hurt me.

I beg of it,
to give
another chance,
but it says
that it feels
the hurt
not me.

But I hurt too,
but I have faith,
faith that
another chance
may lead
to something good,
something that
might not
let me down
again.

This faith
disappears
and reappears
like the heart
drawn on my
window.

But even
if it can’t
be seen,
it’s always
there,
always
and forever.

8 comments

  1. This line is just excellent “like the heart drawn on my
    window.”…so many associations can drawn from it…kudos!


    • Thank you! It’s one of my favorite metaphors 🙂


  2. When I read this.. I think of how my teenage daughters will feel.. thank you. Wonderful poem.

    Me got awards for you, come on over here Happy Wednesday! hugs with love, shakira


  3. Outstanding poetry.


  4. another lovely poem; well done.



Leave a Reply

